Reversible Folk-Art Doll, by Monique A. Gordon

Folk-Art Doll (front view)

Folk-Art Doll (front view)

rear

rear view

Folk Art Doll

By Monique A. Gordon

I am Monique’s silk-wool sweater.

I am Paula’s vintage cloth-scraps.

I am Gabrielle’s turquoise bracelet made into a necklace.

I am stuffed with Momma’s cashmere turtleneck.

I am baby’s shorts made into a dress.

I am felt/cotton/velvet leaves.

Embroidered vines travel up/down/around my body.

My shoes are mix-matched magical bluuues,

Pinks/greens/reds…

My hair is braided/twisted/looped

With knotted threads.

This was Granny’s craft

It kept her girl’s hair intact.

I am spun thread-tales.

I am Folk Art.

One thought on “Reversible Folk-Art Doll, by Monique A. Gordon

Leave a Reply

