Where Have I Been? What Have I Done?

Father (Tom cat), mother (Calico) & child quenching their thirst.

Father (Tom cat), mother (Calico) & child quenching their thirst.

My Endo's a "Cool Cat". He knows all the hip spots in Philadelphia.

My Endo’s a “Cool Cat”. He knows all the hip spots in Philadelphia.

I took a break from blogging to enroll in a five-week poetry workshop with some cool cats. A friend that usually assists with editing has breast-cancer. Sharing my works-in-progress was perfect medicine during her chemo treatment. Especially the one about me and my dog chillin’ and posing with two male cross-dressers. One of my poems was accepted by Apiary Magazine, and will be featured in a few months. My diabetes is in control, however, I’m sick of it, and it’s sick of me. Last week I rescued a kitten and surrendered her to an animal shelter. I named her St. Jacqueline after a long-time friend from kindergarten who drove us to the facility while driving us crazy with complaints of getting lost. I miss my little kitty knocking the yard door for fresh water and kibbles as parents waited along the fence. They reminded me of a kid trick-or-treating. I would have rescued the entire family if they weren’t slick to the trick of sardines as bait.
Oh, the Pope is coming to Philadelphia so I have to replenish my arsenal of diabetes supplies: batteries, alcohol, reservoirs, tubing…We are told to treat his visit like a blizzard. The city will be on lock-down for three days. Ten or more buses will not run. The remaining buses will not venture within 3-miles of the Papal fest. And this is the way life is.

Leave a Reply

